ECP Issues Schedule For Mayors, Deputy Mayors Elections In Sindh

ECP issues schedule for mayors, deputy mayors elections in Sindh

ISLAMABAD, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 28th july, 2016) : The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday issued schedule for holding election of Mayors and Deputy Mayors in District Councils, Municipal Committees, Town Committees, Municipal Corporation, District Municipal Corporations and Metropolitan Corporation relating to Sindh province. However, elections of Municipal Committee Thatta and District Council Thatta, District Thatta and Municipal Committee, Gambat, District Khairpur will be conducted later. Public notice will be issued by the Returning Officers on August 3 and filing of nomination papers with the Returning Officers by the candidates will be done on August 5 and 6. Scrutiny of nomination papers by the Returning Officers will be done from August 8 to 10 and last date for filing of appeals against decisions of the Returning Officers (accepting/rejecting the nomination papers) will be August 12. Last date for deciding appeals by appellate authorities will be August 13 and last date for withdrawal of candidature will be August 15. Publication of revised list of candidates along with symbols will be August 16 and polling will be held on August 24. Consolidation and declaration of result by the Returning Officer will be done on August 25. To ensure that elections to the Seats of Mayor/Deputy Mayor and Chairman/Vice Chairman in the District Councils, Municipal Committees, Town Committees, Municipal Corporation, District Municipal Corporations and Metropolitan Corporation in Sindh province are conducted in accordance with the provisions of Article 218(3) of the Constitution, the Election Commission of Pakistan directs that: All Executive Authorities in the Federation and in the Provinces will neither announce any development project nor use state resources in Local Government Elections calculated to influence the elections in favour of a particular candidate.

If any person in government service misuses his official position in any manner in order to influence results of the elections, he will be liable to be proceeded against under Section 68 of the Sindh Local Government Act, 2013. No transfers/postings of the civil servants will be made after the issuance of election schedule of the Local Government Elections without prior approval of the commission till the publication of election results. Any holder of public office, who is found to have violated any provision of election laws or the instructions issued by the ECP will be proceeded against as mandated in law. The offices of the Election Commission as well as the offices of District Returning Officers and Returning Officers will remain open on all public holidays during the schedule period. All electoral activities mentioned in the aforesaid schedule shall be undertaken during office hours (09:00 AM to 04:00 PM) and the said timing will also be followed on public holidays fixed for any electoral activity of the schedule.