Newly-elected KP Assembly To Meet On Monday

Newly-elected KP Assembly to meet on Monday

PESHAWAR, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 12th Aug, 2018 ) :The maiden session of the newly elected Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly will be held here Monday.

The session has been summoned by the KP governor under Clause (a) of the Article 109 of the Constitution at 10am. First the newly elected members will take oath and then they will elect speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the house.

Due to the non-availability of the outgoing speaker Asad Qaiser, who is taking oath as member of the National Assembly, the governor has nominated Aurangzeb Nalotha of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to administer oath to the newly elected members of the house, an official said on Sunday.

It may be mentioned that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has secured a two-third majority with the election of 84 members in the House of 124 and is all set to elect its chief minister-designate Mahmud Khan, speaker and deputy speaker smoothly.

The Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal with 13 members is the second largest party in the assembly, followed by the Awami National Party with nine, PML-N six and the Pakistan Peoples Party five members.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has declared winners of 95 out of 97 general seats over which elections was held. The election in PK-23 Shangla has been declared void due to low polling by the woman voters. Similarly, polling on two general seats PK-78 and PK-90 was cancelled after the assassination of the contesting candidates Haroon Bilour and Ikramullah Khan Gandapur in the suicide blasts in Peshawar and D.I.Khan.

Former KP chief minister Pervez Khattak, who had won two provincial assembly (PA) seats (PK-61 and PK-64 Nowshera) and a National Assembly seat, will vacate the PA seats. Similarly, Asad Qaisar after his nomination for the post of National Assembly speaker will vacate the PA seat, which he had won in the election.

Dr Haider Ali will also quit his provincial assembly seat and take oath as member of the National Assembly while Dr Amjad Ali will vacate one of the two KP Assembly seats he had won.

Your Thoughts and Comments