Polling Starts In Peaceful Atmosphere In Hyderabad

Polling starts in peaceful atmosphere in Hyderabad

The polling process in some 850 polling stations in Hyderabad started timely here on Wednesday and it will continue till 6 pm in the evening.

HYDERABAD, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 25th Jul, 2018 ) :The polling process in some 850 polling stations in Hyderabad started timely here on Wednesday and it will continue till 6 pm in the evening.

As many as 1,049,586 voters in Hyderabad are eligible to exercise their right to elect their representatives on 3 seats of National Assembly and 6 of Sindh Assembly in Hyderabad.

According to details, some 303,478 voters are registered in Qasimabad and Rural taluka based NA 225, 374,082 in Latifabad based NA 226 and 372,026 in City based NA 227.

Some 235 polling stations including 58 for male, 57 for female and 120 for combined voters have been set up in NA 225, 287 including 148 form male, 132 for female and 7 for combined voters in NA 226, and 328 including 175 for male, 152 for female and 1 for combined voters in NA 227.

There are 3 main contestants in NA 225 including Pakistan Peoples Party's Syed Tariq Hussain Shah, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf's Khawand Bux Jahejo and Grand Democratic Alliance's Naheed Khan.

In NA 226 the electoral fray is among Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan's Sabir Hussain Qaimkhani, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal's Hafiz Tahir Majeed, PTI's Jamshed Ali Shaikh, PPP's Ali Muhammad Sahito, Pak Sarzameen Party's Rashid Ali Khan and Allah-o-Akbar Tehreek's Faisal Nadeem.

Likewise, MQM-P's former MNA Salahuddin, Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Pakistan's ex-MNA Sahibzada Abul Khair Muhammad Zubair, MMA'sKaramat Rajput, PTI's Q Muhammad Hakim and PSP's Abdul Rasheed Arain are contesting from NA 227.

Similarly, 3 candidates are leading the contest in PS 62 Qasimabad including PPP's Jam Khan Shoro, GDA's Ayaz Latif Palijo and Sindh Taraqi Pasand's Dr Qadir Magsi.

In PS 63, PPP's imprisoned former provincial minister Sharjeel Inam Memon is locked in a one on one contest with notable journalist and head of Tabdeeli Pasand Party Ali Qazi.

The electoral battle in PS 64 Latiafbad I is among MQM-P's Muhammad Younus Gaddi, MMA's Saifur Rehman, PPP's Abdul Jabbar, PTI's Ghulam Rasool, PSP's Muhammad Jabbar Shaikh and AAT's Waliullah Panhwar.

In the other constituency of provincial assembly in Latifabad, PS 65, MQM-P's Nadeem Ahmed Siddiqui, PTI's Mustansar Billah, PSP's Raheem Ahmed, MMA's Syed Nasir Ali and AAT's Faisal Ahmed Khan, among others, are contesting.

Meanwhile, in City taluka based PS 66 MMA's Abdul Waheed Qureshi, MQM-P's Rashid Khilji, PTI's Azhar Muhammad Shaikh, PPP's Mukhtiar Ahmed Dhamrah and PSP's Syed Ahmed Rasheed, besides other candidates, are the contestants.

In the PS 67 seat in City taluka, PPP's Muhammad Sagheeer, MQM-P's Nasir Hussain Qureshi, PSP's Mir Attiqullah Talpur and PTI's Umeed Ali Junejo are contending.

In 2013 general elections, the MQM-P bagged all the 6 seats in City taluka and Latifabad taluka while the 3 seats in Qasimabad taluka and rural taluka went to the PPP.

The polling will begin at 8 am and conclude by 6 pm.

Your Thoughts and Comments