Bangladesh Bowl First In Must-win NZ Clash

Bangladesh bowl first in must-win NZ clash

MOUNT MAUNGANUI, New Zealand, Jan 6 (APP - UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 06th Jan, 2017 ) : Bangladesh took history into account as they opted to bowl first in a bid to level the Twenty20 series in the second match against New Zealand at Mount Maunganui on Friday.

Captain Mashfafe Mortaza said that as Bangladesh have never played at Bay Oval, "We will go by the history, and all the matches have been won by the team batting second." It is a must-win encounter for them as another loss would give New Zealand the series with a match to spare, to go with their 3-0 sweep in the three 50-over games.

Bangladesh kept the same line-up beaten by six wickets in the first Twenty20, while New Zealand made three changes. Trent Boult, Jimmy Neesham and Ish Sodhi come in for Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson and the injured Neil Broom.

The inclusion of Sodhi gives New Zealand a second spinner to accompany Mitchell Santner, with captain Kane Williamson saying he was happy to bat first and would be looking for turn late in the game.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult. Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain.

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL) Third umpire: Wayne Knights (NZL) Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)