Cricket: Sri Lanka Elect To Bat Against Aussies In Galle

Cricket: Sri Lanka elect to bat against Aussies in Galle

GALLE, Sri Lanka,(APP - UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 4th Augst,2016) : Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat first against Australia in the second Test in Galle on Thursday. Left-arm fast bowler Vishwa Fernando debuts for Sri Lanka in place of pace spearhead Nuwan Pradeep, who was ruled out with a hamstring injury.

Australia, who had already named their playing XI on the eve of the match, have handed left-arm spinner Jon Holland his international debut in place of the injured Steve O'Keefe. Sri Lanka, who took a 1-0 lead in the three-match series in Pallekele, have a great chance of clinching the rubber against the number one Test team after 17 years.

Teams: Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando Australia: Steven Smith (capt), David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Jon Holland, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG) tv Umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND) Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG) Reserve Umpire: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI)