Opposition Sends 12 Suggested ECP Members List To Parliamentary


Opposition sends 12 suggested ECP members list to Parliamentary

ISLAMABAD,(UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 22nd july,2016) : Opposition leader in the National Assembly, Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah on Friday sent the list of 12 suggested Names of members of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) through a letter to the Parliamentary Committee. According to the official source, three names have been shortlisted from each province on recommendation of opposition which would be considered by the committee for appointment of ECP members.

A sealed envelope carrying the letter has been sent to Secretary National Assembly who will forward it to the Chairman Parliamentary Committee.

It is pertinent to mention here that with the joint efforts of the government and opposition, it was decided to appoint one ECP member from each province (all four provinces) after receiving 12 suggested names each from government and opposition. The decision was taken with the vital role of Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Federal Minister for Finance, Ishaq Dar. The meeting of the Parliamentary Committee would be convened after receiving names from both opposition and the government. The parliamentary committee would finalize the names of ECP members after detailed discussion.