Voting Starts For Mayor Election


Voting starts for mayor election

HYDERABAD, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News -24th Augst,2016) : The voting process to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Hyderabad Municipal Corporation began here Wednesday morning and will conclude by 5 pm. According to the Returning Officer, Electoral College of the HMC comprises 143 votes including 96 of those who were elected in the local government elections and remaining of the reserved seats.

However, 2 out of 143 chairmen resigned leaving the total eligible votes to 141, he added. Among the 141 votes, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) which has fielded Tayab Hussain and Suhail Mashhadi for the slots of Mayor and Deputy Mayor, respectively, has 115 votes including 80 of the elected chairmen and vice chairmen of the Union Committees of HMC and remaining of the reserved seats.

Pakistan People's Party's Allah Bux alias Pasha Qazi and Hassan Jatoi are contending for the seats of mayor and deputy mayor, respectively, against the MQM's candidates. Meanwhile, the PPP's candidates have already won unopposed the positions of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of District Council Hyderabad and Qasimabad Municipal Committee.