AJK President Election On Aug 15


AJK President election on Aug 15

MUZAFFARABAD/MIRPUR, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 30th july, 2016) : The election for the President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) will be held on August 15 here at the AJK Legislative Assembly building. The electoral college for the election of President comprises 41 members of AJK LA and nine elected members of the Kashmir Council. The stipulated constitutional term of the incumbent AJK President Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan is going to expire on August 24. According to the schedule issued by the AJK Election Commission on Saturday, nomination papers will be received by the Chief election Commissioner at his office on August 11 from 10 am to 12 noon and their scrutiny will be conducted on the same day at 2 pm.

Objections against acceptance or rejection of nomination papers of any candidate can be filed by next day. The candidates can withdraw their nomination on August 13 and the final list will be displayed on the same day.

Polling will be held on August 15. According to an official notification, Secretary AJK Election Commission Mian Naeem Ullah will perform as presiding officer for the scheduled election. The AJK Chief Election Commissioner, under Clause 13 of the AJK Presidential Election Rules, has requested the AJK President to summon the joint session of the AJK Council and the AJK Legislative Assembly on August 15.