Two In The Run For AJK Presidential Slot

Two in the run for AJK Presidential slot

MIRPUR (AJK) , (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point news - 12th Augst,2016): Two candidates are in run to contest the scheduled August 16 election for the office of the President of Azad Jammu Kashmir, after their nomination papers were accepted by Chief Election Commissioner of AJK, on Thursday. Three candidates including former diplomat Muhammad Masood Khan (PML-N), former Minister Ch.

Latif Akber (PPP-AJK) and Syed Mujahid Hussain Naqvi (AJK Muslim League) had filed their nomination papers on Thursday for the presidential election. The nomination papers of two of the candidates including Mohammad Masood Khan and Ch.

Latif Akber were accepted by the Returning Officer. However the nomination papers of Mujahid Hussain Naqvi were rejected for lack of the signatures of proposer and endorser on his nomination papers.

The objections raised by Mujahid Hussain Naqvi on the candidature and nomination papers of Muhammad Masood Khan were turned down by the Returning officer.

Polling to elect the President of AJK state will be held on August 16, 2016 from 10.00 a.m to 03.00 p.m at AJK Legislative Assembly in Muzaffarabad. Members of both houses of the AJK parliament including AJK Legislative Assembly and AJK Council will exercise their right of vote to elect the new President of AJK for next five years constitutional term.