Polling Process Begins Among Tight Security Arrangements


Polling process begins among tight security arrangements

Polling process for general election 2018 started on Wednesday amid tight security arrangements in district Multan.

LAHORE, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 25th Jul, 2018 ) :Polling process for general election 2018 started on Wednesday amid tight security arrangements in district Multan.

As many as 1817 polling stations have been made across the district in which 450 are declared sensitive polling stations. At sensitive polling stations, more tight security arrangements have been made to avoid any untoward incident.

At the sensitive polling stations, eight close circuit tv cameras have been installed, informed commissioner Multan Division Nadeem Irshad Kiyani. About 3840 police officials are performing duty to maintain security arrangements at the polling station.

Many voters, majority of youngsters are found standing in queues at the polling stations especially in urban areas.

As many as 2,556,140 voters including 1,168,732 women voters are casting votes for six national and 13 provincial assembly seats in the district. Similarly, the same number of voters are electing MPAs from 13 different seats from PP-211 to PP-223.

According to election commission sources, NA 155, which is located in suburban area is leading in number of votes as it contained 485,810 voters.

Similarly 385,233 voters are in NA 154, 444,724 in NA 156, 390,725 in NA 157, 436,391 in NA 158, and 413,252 voters in NA 159 are exercising their right of vote in favour of different 71 candidates, participating in all these six Constituencies of national assembly in the district.

According to DRO sources, 14 candidates including Sikandar Hayat Bosan (Independent), Syed Abdul Qadir Gillani (PPP), Ahmed Hassan Dehrr (PTI) and Salman Qureshi (PML-N) are contesting in NA 154.

Similarly, 13 contestants in NA 155 including Aamir Dogar (PTI), Shiekh Tariq Rasheed (PML-N), and Khalid Khan Khakwani (Independent), 16 candidates in NA 156 including Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi (PTI), Aamir Saeed Ansari (PML-N) and eight candidates in NA 157 including Syed Musa Gillani (PPP), Zain Qureshi (PTI) and Abdul Ghaffar Dogar (PML-N).

In NA 158 (Shujabad), seven candidates including ex PM Syed Yusuf Raza Gillani (PPP), Ibrahim Khan (PTI) and Syed Javed Ali Shah (PML-N) would contest.

In NA 159 (Jalalpur Pirwala), 14 candidates are contesting including Rana Qasim Noon (PTI) and Deewan Aashique Bukhari (PML-N).�