Asia Rugby To Support Pak Rugby

Asia Rugby to support Pak rugby

LAHORE , (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 24th August, 2016) : Koji Takumasu, President Asia Rugby, has assured that the Asian body will extend full support and cooperation to Pakistan Rugby Union for overall development of the game. He gave this assurance after chairing an executive committee meeting of the Asia Rugby on Wednesday at Murree. Koji Takumasu said Pakistan is rich in rugby talent and the game of rugby was getting rapid popularity in the country due to the hard work and devoted efforts of Pakistan Rugby union. "We will extend all-out cooperation for further development of the game in Pakistan in the field of coaching and other areas related to the game," he said. It was a full house meeting which was attended by (Koji Tokumasu -President), India (Aga Hussain - Vice President), UAE (Qais Aldhalai, General Secretary ), Hong Kong (3 Members) (Trevor Gregory - Asia Rugby Rep to World Rugby, Mike Haynes -Treasurer and Ross Mitchel - General Manager Asia Rugby), Singapore ( Mathew Oakley - Manager Services Asia Rugby), South Korea (Jaesub Choi - Exco Member), Taiwan (Herman Haung - Exco Member), Thailand (Nattapol Hemyoo - Exco Member), Uzbekistan (Sodyq Safoev - Exco Member) and Pakistan (Fawzi Khawaja - Exco Member).

The meeting was a full-day affair where various strategies and plans for development of the sport in Asia were discussed in detail. Syed Aqil Shah, chairman, POA sports Commission, and vice-president, Pakistan Olympic Association, presented the welcome address to the delegates. Koji Takumasu, president, Asia Rugby, in response thanked Syed Aqil Shah and Fawzi Khawaja, president, Pakistan Rugby Union, for the warm welcome accorded to the delegates. "Pakistan is amongst the top performing countries in the world by implementing 'Growing the Game of Rugby' development plan," said the chief of Asian Rugby. He expressed his delight while having the executive committee meeting in Pakistan and praised the hospitality extended to all the executive committee members.