Political Heavy Weights Blow Whistle For Election 2018 In Charsadda

Political heavy weights blow whistle for Election 2018 in Charsadda

As less than one month left in the General Elections 2018, Political heavyweights of different mainstream political parties have blown whistle for two National Assembly (NA) and Five Provincial Assembly (PK) seats in Charsadda district from where ANP Chief Asfandyar Wali Khan,

PESHAWAR, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 26th Jun, 2018 ) :As less than one month left in the General Elections 2018, Political heavyweights of different mainstream political parties have blown whistle for two National Assembly (NA) and Five Provincial Assembly (PK) seats in Charsadda district from where ANP Chief Asfandyar Wali Khan, Jumaat- e- Islami (JI) Central Amir, Senator Sirajul Haq and Qumi Watan Party (QWP) Chairman and former Chief Minister KP, Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao are in the run for July 25 polls.

A total of 130 candidates, who are flexing muscle for two NA and five PK Constituencies in Charsadda, have accelerated election campaigns by holding public and corner meetings in different areas of the constituencies to inform masses about their programs and party manifestos to muster maximum support in their favor.

ANP, PTI and QWP have issued final electoral lists for all constituencies of Charsadda and now all eyes on NA-23 Charsadda-I and NA-24 Charsadda-II from where QWP Central President and Former Chief Minister Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao, JI Central Amir Senator Sirajul Haq, former MNA and JUIF leader Moulana Gohar Shah and ANP Chief Asfandyar Wali Khan are the major aspirants.

On NA 23 Charsadda-I, tough electoral battle is expected among Central President QWP Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao, Central Amir of JI, Sirajul Haq, ANP leader Gulzar Khan, JUIF Haji Zafar Ali and PTI stalwart Anwar Taj who had established parties secretariats in different areas for assistance of voters.

Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao is stated to the main contender for this constituency as he had won this constituency since 1988 and is again posing serious challenge to the rival candidates.

Political observers said JI and JUIF are major partners in five religious parties Mutahida Majlis Amal (MMA) alliance and fielding of separate candidates by both the religious parties may counterproductive for the alliance and division of votes may benefit rival candidates.

Observers believed that Sirajul Haq is likely to withdraw his nomination papers from NA-23 Charssada and will be asked by the MMA leadership to concentrate on his home national constituency of Dir Lower and this it will pave way for JUIF's Haji Zafar Ali to contest from this constituency.

The observers said PTI has overlooked senior leader Jehanzaib Dhaki who had contested last general election on PTI ticket from NA-23 and awarded ticket to Anwar Taj against which political workers and loyalists of the former lodged protest at Bani Gala and this differences may affect PTI vote bank in this constituency.

A total of 16 candidates are in the run in this constituency comprising Shabqadar and Tangi Tehsils bordering with Mohmand Agency and candidates win support of strong bardaris would get an edge over others.

On NA 24 Charsadda-II, ANP Central President, Asfandyar Wali Khan, PTI leader Fazl Muhammad, former MNA and JUI-F Maulana Gohar Shah, JI Major � Akbar Khan and QWP Haji Hidayatullah Khan, PPP Pir Aftab Alam and PMLN Mian Alamgir are among 13 candidates in the run of this constituency consisting of mainly Charssadda City, Sir Dheri, Prang, Nista and other adjoining areas.

Political observers said that ANP Chief Asfandyar Wali Khan and PTI Fazl Muhammad are posing tough challenge to former MNA and JUIF leader Maulana Gohar Shah who has easily won this constituency during last general elections.

In the three provincial assembly seats, PTI had given tickets to three former MPAs including Fazal Shakoor Khan (PK59), Sultan Muhammad Khan (PK-58) and Khalid Khan Mohmand (PK 56) after they recently quit JUIF and QWP respectively.

Former MPA Arif Ahmed Zai, who was the lone candidate that had won 2013 general elections on PTI ticket from Charsadda district has said to be succeeded to get PTI ticket for PK 60 following successful protest by his supporters at Bani Gala.

On PK-56, ANP has awarded ticket to Yasir Amin after apparently overlooking senior leader Hamayun Khattak, who is now mulling to jump into electoral battle as independent candidate as protest and if do so votes of ANP would be divided, which may benefit Provincial President of QWP and former MPA Sikandar Khan Sherpao, JUIF Mufti Gohar, PTI Khalid Mohmand, PMLN Tahira Bukhari and JI Samiullah.

Close electoral contest is also expected on PK 57 Charsadda-II among Shakeel Basir Umarzai ANP, Arshad Umarzai QWP, Aziz Umarzai PTI, Muhammad Riaz JI, Kaleem Akbar PMLN, Muhammad Naeem PPP and Dr Elahi Jani JUIF among 18 candidates who are in the run for this constituency.

Similarly, 15 candidates are flexing muscle on PK 58 including Aimal Wali Khan (ANP), son of ANP Chief Asfandyar Wali Khan, Sultan Muhammad Khan PTI, Yousaf Khan JUIF, Ehsanullah Khan PMLN, Alam Khan Wardaga PPP, Wali Muhammad Khan JI and woman independent candidate Sumaira Begium.

As many as 17 candidates are contesting for PK 59 prominent among are Fazal Shakoor of PTI, Qasim Muhammadizai of ANP, Maulana Gohar Shah of JUIF, Misbahullah of JI, Hashim Khan of QWP and Babar Ali Khan of PPP.

Similarly on PK 60, Mian Miraj ANP are posing serious challenge to Maulana Shamar Shah JUIF, Bakhat Muhammad JI, Jehngir Asif Khan PTI, Babar Ali Khan QWP, independent woman candidate Farah Khan and former MPA Arif Ahmedzai.

It is expected that election campaign would get further expedited after issuance of final list of the candidates by the Election Commission of Pakistan and majority of the covering candidates would withdraw their nomination papers ahead of July 25 General Elections.

Political observers opined that every candidate at the moment stand almost fifty-fifty chances to win the constituency, however, effective elections campaigning by leadership of the political parties and party's election manifesto will make significant impact on overall results on July 25 general elections.