NA Body Approves PSDP Proposal Of M/O Housing For FY 2017-18

NA body approves PSDP proposal of M/O Housing for FY 2017-18

ISLAMABAD, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 21st Feb, 2017 ) : National Assembly Standing Committee on Housing and Works has discussed budgetary proposals relating to the Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) of Ministry of Housing and Works for the financial year 2017-18.

The committee discussed and approved PSDP of Ministry of Housing and Works for financial year 2017-18 amounting to Rs.12343.118 million to be spent on 149 schemes and executed through Pakistan Public Works Department (Pak-PWD).

The meeting of the committee was held here on Tuesday under the chairmanship of MNA Haji Muhammad Akram Ansari at Parliament House. The Ministry proposed cost of 179 projects amounting to Rs.17199 million, however, the committee directed for exclusion of 46 projects amounting to Rs.4854.88.

The committee was of the view that 46 excluded project were unnecessary and should be taken up after necessary need assessment and completion of the ongoing projects. The body while going through the PSDP proposals, observed that delay in execution of work on the schemes resulted in PC-I revision, cost escalation and over-burdening the national exchequer.

Committee, therefore, directed the Ministries of Planning and Finance to ensure timely release of budgetary allocations so that the work on projects could be initiated or completed, thus avoiding wastage of public money.

The Committee further directed the Ministry of Housing and Works to submit report of inclusion or non-inclusion of the PSDP budgetary proposals in the Federal budget within thirty days of the committee's recommendation required under rule 7 of rule 201 of the rules of procedure and conduct of business in the National Assembly, 2007.

The meeting was attended by MNAs; Rajab Ali Khan Baloch, Rana Zahid Hussain Khan, Ghulam Muhammad Lali, Ms. Tahira Aurangzeb, Ms. Khalida Mansoor, Ms. Nighat Parveen Mir, Faqir Sher Muhammad Bilalani, Sajid Nawaz Khan, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan, Molana Ameer Zaman, Secretary M/o Housing, Director General (Pak-PWD) and other senior officers of the concerned departments.

Your Thoughts and Comments